Support quality local journalism. Become a subscriber.

Didn't get a chance to finish your story? Purchase a day pass digital subscription and you'll receive unlimited online access for one day (24 hours). You will have immediate access upon completion of your purchase.


The following area city governments will each close on Friday, July 3 ahead of the Independence Day holiday on Saturday. Oelwein will reopen at 8:30 a.m. Monday; Fayette, Hazleton and Maynard will reopen at 8 a.m. Monday; Fairbank will reopen at 9 a.m. Monday; Sumner will reopen at 7:30 a.m. Monday.