Support quality local journalism. Become a subscriber.

Didn't get a chance to finish your story? Purchase a day pass digital subscription and you'll receive unlimited online access for one day (24 hours). You will have immediate access upon completion of your purchase.

On June 7, wrestling fans and supporters gathered at Prairie Links Golf & Event Center for the annual Dan Gable Celebrity golf outing.

To cap off the night, nine individuals or teams were inducted into the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa, with three of the honorees having ties to Waverly.

The 2008 Waverly-Shell Rock High School wrestling team was the sixth team inducted into the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa and the first high school team inducted. The Go-Hawks won the 3A Iowa High School state championship with a record-setting performance. Waverly-Shell Rock set the all-time point record at the Iowa High School State Wrestling Tournament with 225 points. Thirteen of the 14 members of the team qualified for state, including four state champions. It was the second of five traditional state team championships during Rick Caldwell’s tenure as head wrestling coach.

The starting line-up for their 2008 state championship team was Jordan Rinken (fourth at 103), Cody Caldwell (fourth at 112), Jake Ballweg (first at 119), Matthew Kittleson (third at 125), A.C. Campbell (fourth at 130), Mark Ballweg (first at 135), Cory Nolte (SQ at 140), Justin Denner (145), Kyle Cox (third at 152), Reed Kahler (fourth at 160), Lee Averhoff (third at 171), Dylan Wrage (first at 189), Cody Krumweide (sixth at 215), Eric Thompson (first at HWT).

Assistant coaches were Mike Schwab, Eric Whitcome, Williams Soesbe, Josh Meier, and Alain Djoumessi.

Marti and Jerry Roling received the Russ Smith Community Impact Award, which is presented to an individual or individuals who demonstrate exceptional local impact on wrestling in Iowa. Beginning in 1992, the Rolings were instrumental in building support for the Wartburg wrestling program, which led to 14 NCAA team championships and 26 consecutive Iowa conference championships. The Rolings were instrumental in bringing the Dan Gable Celebrity Golf Tournament to Waverly and growing the event to its most successful tenure. They also created the celebrity/sponsor social prior to the Dan Gable Celebrity Golf Tournament. Both remain involved with the Wartburg and the University of Northern Iowa athletic programs and are monetary supporters of the Waverly-Shell Rock wrestling program.

The Schwab Family was presented the Bowlsby Family Legacy Award. Wrestling for Osage High School, Mike Schwab was an Iowa state champion in 1981 while Mark was a four-time state champion from 1982-85 and Doug was a state champion in 1996. Mike was an All-American for the University of Northern Iowa, finishing eighth at the NCAA tournament in 1987, while Mark was a two-time All-American for UNI, finishing fifth in 1986 and sixth in 1990. Doug was a national champion and three-time All-American for the University of Iowa, finishing first in 1999, third in 2000 and second in 2001. He finished fifth at the World Championships in 2007 and competed for the United States in the Olympics in 2008. Doug is currently the head wrestling coach at UNI.